Driving question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dynamic8999

Reaction score
Hi I am fairly new to driving and was wondering if there is a way to make my horse extend more at his gaits? He tends to get a bit short strided when I hook him to the cart. He is still somewhat green so any advice (exercises to do, etc) would be appreciated. He is currently going in a snaffle with no check. Was at a professional trainer for several months last year being broke to drive. Now I am trying to make him more finished.

How tall is your horse?

The taller the horse the stride is extended much more....
default_wink.png
:

Judge told us this last year with our 32" stallion driving....

Last edited by a moderator:
Where are you driving him? I heard some good advise once that if you want your horse to have lots of forward movement, you need to drive somewhere that he can move forward! ie, not always in an arena, get out somewhere when you can go straight for a long ways, and your horse feels like he's actually going somewhere.

Not sure if it helps you, but it made a lot of sense to me, we were already driving outside (lack of arena will do that for you
default_wink.png
: ) but now make a point of driving down the 1/2 mile hayfield regularly.

Check the fit of your harness it might be bothering him. You might be collecting him up too much. I don't collect up a green horse I let them move out. Collection comes later. Linda B

Hi my horse is 33" and the harness was checked to fit correctly by a driving trainer. Will see if I can find somewhere more open to see if that extends him out more. Just thought maybe someone had a "secret technique" or exercise I could work on with him.

Horses change, so make sure that his harness is not only still correctly fitted but that he is comfortable in it.