A driving question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minihorsefrnd

Reaction score
Hello,

My question is: I have noticed that my driving gelding tends to look off to side like he is looking at something, and he very well may be. But for me to strighten him up its almost like I am asking him to turn in the opposite direction. Not that he turns, because the pressure on the rein is ever so slight, it is like he know that I am asking him to strighten up and he does, but he generally goes back to looking off to one side. My question is have I harnessed wrong, is it something that I am doing to make him do that. He has a over check harness, with a low port myler. (Sorry No Pics).

Does anyone else have this problem?

I am not an expert but he sounds like there is something "off" with him. Hopefully someone has some experience with this.

I just re read your post. You might try a snaffle bit and a side check.

Last edited by a moderator:
Every horse is stronger to one side than another just as their drivers are. It's quite possible that he's off somehow and I commend you for looking at every possibility but a large part of training horses is teaching them to go straight. They all have to learn because believe it or not it's not something they do naturally!
default_wink.png
Some will show it by not bending very well to one side, others by actively carrying their head one way or another. It sounds like you are doing exactly the right thing by picking up gently on the opposite rein and asking him to move his withers back into line. Keep it up!