Newbie shopping for mini driving bits (Canada)

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elauren27

Reaction score
Hello! This is my first post, but I've been reading this forum for over a year. I have a mini I would like to start driving. I'm a newbie, and he has been a chuckwagon racer previously. I have only used him for leadline with my daughter.
I've been slowly trying to gather all of the items needed for driving, but it's been difficult because he isn't a standard sized mini. I've measured him to be 37", and he is a chunky little man, i think he is really just a small shetland pony. Most mini tack is too small, and shetland tack is too big. I ordered a cheap but new leather harness for a size B mini (hard to find to begin with) and it mostly fits if i use all the maximum size fittings, except for the bridle, which is absolutely too small. So i ordered a custom sized Comfy-fit bridle from Equi-Market.
Now I'm looking for a bit! I did order a riding snaffle bit for him last year, it's 3.5" and I think slightly too small, but maybe wearable. I got it on Amazon, and 3.5" is the only size option. A 4" or 3.75" would probably be better, but I don't know where to find one online.
Can anyone recommend where to buy a regular driving bit in canada that may have more sizing options?
Thank you!

Chimacum Tack and Chrysalis Acres both have 3.75" bits in several styles and I would guess that one or both of them would ship to Canada. 3.75" is the size that fits my 37-38" pony who does not have a tiny head for his size. ;)

Chimacum Tack and Chrysalis Acres both have 3.75" bits in several styles and I would guess that one or both of them would ship to Canada. 3.75" is the size that fits my 37-38" pony who does not have a tiny head for his size. ;)