Why did you choose a mini over a pony?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sheryl

Reaction score
Back in 2006 /07 I careleased a driving mini for a year. He was really great and i had so much fun driving him! He was a great confidence builder as due to a previous riding accident I was pretty frightened of horses, although i loved them of course. Lil Don could be a real pistol, but was well trained and always safe. I took a few driving lessons as I was pretty clueless, but felt like I really got the hang of it with him. I went through a very sad time, death of my little sister then, and that sweet horse gave me a lot of hours of comfort and solace too.

I returned to riding and just couldn't afford to board two horses, so I ended the lease. i have been loving riding, and I have been riding regularly for the last 4 years, but the driving bug has never quite left. I pretty much exclusively trail ride and love getting out and about - i could see doing that with a driving equine too!

I don't want to train my full size riding horse to drive, so now that i have a little land I am wanting to get either another mini, or a small pony to enjoy driving with. My big horse is coming home from the boarding barn soon and he would enjoy a buddy too... and i would enjoy an equine that eats a little less than a 15.H horse! Where i live now there are dead end streets and i even have enough land to build a small driving course on. I am near a very long horse/bike trail (Tolt for you locals!) but the blockades to keep cars out look like they will block a cart. It is pretty dang hilly too, but I at least have roads to drive on.