Weanlings' Feeding Advice

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FlatCreekFarm

Reaction score
My two new girls seem to be doing well, but I'm wondering if I'm doing this feeding thing even halfway right
default_wacko.png
: That's just me to doubt myself, but since I've never done anything quite like this before (only bottle calves) ~ want to check it out. Also, in all the reference material I have collected over the past couple years, I can't find anything on what amounts of grain to feed weanlings, or a schedule to follow. Keep in mind these little girls are only 4 months old.

The previous owner started them on sweet feed during the weaning process and that is what they were on when I picked them up (I know sweet feed may not the best option, but... that's what we have to deal with right now). He told me they were getting about a big coffee can full total per day (divided between the two). I want to eventually take them off the sweet feed but I'm afraid that would be too big of a change right now after everything else. I'm dividing that "coffee can" of feed up into something like this throughout the day (for two):

7 A.M. - about 1/3 of the "coffee can" full

7 P.M. - about 1/3 of the can full

Two other feedings during the day I divide up the other 1/3 for them in small "snacks".

They also get some grass during the day.

They are eating well, sometimes leave a little bit and come back for it later. Manure is mostly firm, occasionally slightly loose (thinking this could be mainly from the big changes - move, etc.). On Ruby, I can feel some ribs but it isn't anything that concerns me much yet as she seems to feel good, and she doesn't have a malnourished appearance. She certainly eats good, as does Gracie. Sometimes when they bray I wonder if they're still hungry?