Team Question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kkay3702

Reaction score
Hi guys!

I haven't been on here in SO long and came across it again and couldnt believe I had forgotten to come on here! But I had a driving question for you all :) Mity and I have been driving now for 5 years and teaching children to drive as well this summer, he's a true champ! Bombproof as they come he even comes to work with me to Petsmart to see everyone :) So his latest skill has been helping me train his roommate, Ren. We adopted Ren as a yearling a few years ago to keep Mity company when our other mini (who came with Mity) had to be put down from an accident in the paddock :-( Ren has filled the void a bit and when he came home Mity immediately took to him. Ren is our mini donkey who has just turned 4 and this summer I hitched him up to the cart for the first time (I had been handling him a bit since he came, longlining, tacking up, getting used to being tied etc.) He even would follow Mity pulling the cart which also made it very easy to get him used to the sounds and sights of the cart itself. But I had a interesting idea... Mity and Ren are almost exactly the same size (other than the ears!) and I would like to try driving them together. They both have single harnesses. I have never driven a team before and have NO clue how to even hitch them up. I was going to possibly go to the carriage barn in newton for a couple lessons first. But can you convert single harness to a team harness? I don't have a team cart yet but I would be doing this in hand a bit before trying with a cart so I'll have time to get a new one (or realize this won't work and stick with single lol). If you can convert the harness how would I go about this? And better yet.. How do you steer? I mean do you have four reins or just a right one and a left? May seem like a weird questi