"Reverse" dapples...want to hear more

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sandee

Reaction score
Color is so fasinating.

On another thread Nookta mentioned that Silver Dapples sometimes had "reverse" dapples (black spots). I'd like to know more about this. Can anyone tell me more or give me a webiste to refer to? One colt from my stallion has these black spots and we thought that it was showing appy characteristics. The owner and I would both like to know more.

Boy, I'm no color expert, and I may not be using the correct terminology for what I'm seeing.

At certain times of the year (usually right around/after the Summer Solstice or longest day of the year), his coat begins growing back in with black dappling against the steel-grey color.

It looks pretty cool and is mainly limited to the areas where he might show regular dappling. Over his rump, around his barrel and shoulder region. It fades out over his back.

We won a solid color class one year when he was showing it particularly brightly. It looked much like an appaloosa but with no white anywhere, only the black spots (which looked like the leopard spots w/the lace edging/peacock effect).

I think if these are permanent features of a color coat, they can be "bend-or" spots, but I dont' know if they occur on or in silvers. I have seen a lot of photos of them on chestnuts.

Rabbitsfizz is likely to know far more about this, so I hope she shows up. SOON!
default_smile.png
I am out of my league, just sharing with you what I've seen.

TO me reverse dappling is merely darker spots against the lighter coat color whereas usual dappling is lighter spots compared to the darker coat coloring.

Liz

bumping up. Hey, Rabbitfizz need to hear from you on this.