Opinions on the Harriston Sale?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Horse-Cow-Gal

Reaction score
I am new to Mini's but have grown to love them. I am thinking about going to the Harriston Sale on the 8th of October. Can I have some feedback regarding this sale.....anything will be appreciated. I am looking for a filly or mare and I understand that caution must be taken in this area re: breeding status etc.

Any good or bad experiences to report???

Thanks to all that reply!
default_smile.png

HEY! Im from ontario as well! Im going to harriston ! But I am not buying a horse haha dont let me! Hoping they have a harness!

Hi Lisa!!!!

You should definately stay away from there you will end up coming home with a horse!! LOL :lol:

Pam

What time do the horses usually start? Are there many of them? I bet it is very tempting
default_smile.png
They are very hard to resist!!!!

This is their 21st. Miniature AMHA/ AMHR Sale

Horses start selling after tack around Noon, usually booked full limit is 60 horses.

Call Kim at Harriston Auction # is 519-338-3722

If you give her your email, she will send you a preview of the horses listed

Be very careful if you are going to buy from the sale. I don't know how much experience you have but you need to know your stuff before bidding. Some good horses go through every time but many horses with problems also get dumped there. Hook up with someone who knows the sellers if you can as good breeders will put horses in there that they just can't keep over the winter. Don't believe everything they announce either. I say there are plenty of good horses available from private sales where you don't have to make a split second decision. It is hard to turn your back on some of these animals.