how to get foal used to his headcollar

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

teng

Reaction score
Hi everyone - i'm a newbie - go gentle with me !!

I have a mare with a 12wk old colt foal, only had them 2wks, he'd not been handled at all, but he is coming round now, scratches on his neck, bum etc, been rubbing headcollar over him but he really shies away when it's near his head, anything i can do to help him accept it.

I've only ever bred one foal before and never had a problem with her - am i doing something wrong ????????

Can you get some help? If you can, go into the stall, hold the foal very gently, one arm under the neck, the other one around the girth under, have the assistant gently place the halter on, clip it, not too loose, not too tight, leave it on for 15 to 30 minutes a couple of times a day, don't leave him while the halter is on, then hold him and remove all done very slowly and with patience, make a big fuss over him, lots of scratches and good boys. Do this every day until you can do it just one person.

Hi and welcome to LB, hope you will both enjoy your time here and also gain lots of info and help if you require it.

I have some very unusual ideas about foals and headcollars, so I'm sure you will get other suggestions as well! Is there a reason why you actually need to headcollar this little chap? We never headcollar our foals until they are weaned (told you I was strange. LOL!!)