Pre foaling vaccinations

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charli

Reaction score
Hello-I am new to the miniature breeding group. We have owned some minis for 6 years now but we are going through the 'expecting' stage right now. We have been watching our mare for 3 weeks now due to the fact that we are not sure when she was bred. My question is am I supposed to give her another round of the Prestige V since it will be over 45 days (when she delivers) since her last injection? She received her first injection on Dec. 30 2010 and it was boostered on Jan. 30, 2011. I have read that it is very important that she have this within 45 days of foaling and am not sure if it should be repeated.

Any thoughts would be helpful.

Thanks

This vaccination should be given during pregnancy at 5, 7 and 9 months. What did your vet say? did you scan your mare to see at what stage of pregnancy she is? The timing is fundamental with this vaccination or it will not work.

Edit to add

i miss understood the type of vacc. Some names are different here in Europe. but I see that Dr Taylor has kindly answered so just ignore the stupid Italian women
xreiter.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
For "pre-foaling", we do a 4-way shot (flu and ewt) about 30 days prior to when we expect the foal... which of course means our best guess
default_smile.png

Prestige V is a 5-way vaccine for Tetanus/EEE/WEE/Flu/Rhino, If she's had it 2 months before foaling you should be fine. I would check with your vet for their advice, I don't think you should need to booster again unless it's a lot longer before she foals.

Optimal is 3-6 weeks prior to foaling. You may want to consider adding a West Nile.