Newbie in central Iowa looking for fairly close trainer

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pam Crise

Reaction score
Hi everyone - I am a newbie just north of Des Moines, IA. I have had minis for quite awhile but am finally considering showing this year. Have been watching and learning - driving at home and on trails. Have also learned alot from you guys on this forum. Thank you!

My minis and I know the "basics" of driving but I would like to find a trainer to work with me and my horses. I'm in need of learning the extended trot, etc. I am not familiar with trainers in the central states area around us so was wondering if anyone could give me some recommendations. Doesn't have to be a strictly driving trainer as I will admit I have no clue how to show at halter and would like to learn! Someone very close would be nice that I could actually take regular "lessons" with or someone that I could spend a few days or a weekend with would also be great. Can't learn it all in a few days but it would give me a good foundation. I have a couple of country pleasure geldings and a new pleasure mare - who I am probably driving crazy because I feel like she knows more than I do at this point and she's probably getting tired of me not knowing anything like her only other driver/owner did!
default_wacko.png
:

I would apprciate any recommendations and contact info you guys would have.

Good Luck Showing has been really wonderful for us. Great enjoyment.

The way my husband and I was taught is by going to the shows and watching.

Going to clinics. Just like you are doing asking questions, and reading and practice, practice, practice.

It is also nice to know you did it yourself. We are learning every time we show.

Good luck in finding a trainer, but if you cannot, try to go to some clinics on what you would like to learn.

:saludando: