My first mini - I am fairly new to horses...need guidance!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbminis

Reaction score
I just got my first mini and I am so excited! I am fairly new to horses.

I have been around them at the stables when my kids took riding lessons one year and we owned a large horse for about a year. I never felt comfortable around the large horse (Tessie) so we sold her to a friend who has horses.

I love this new little guy though and I think he will be a great herdsire in a few years. He will be registered AMHA. He is only 3 months old now and about 25 inches tall. I want him to be a good horse and not develop any bad habits due to my inexperience. Here are some questions:

1. What should I do with him every day? I have been brushing him and touching him all over. I walk him some, but he lags behind.

2. He has been wormed, but no shots. What kind of shots will he need soon or is there a general schedule for all horses that I could follow?

3. I bought bermuda hay for him and he is eating "Mare and Foal" pellets. He is also eating some random grass that was growing in the fenced area. Is this a good diet? Is bermuda hay good hay?

Feel free to give advice on any of these questions....I need all the help I can get. I will attach a picture today.

Rebecca

(West Tennessee area)

Your boy is 12 weeks old? Is he still with his mom, or is he weaned? Is there anyone close to you with experience with miniature horses? I bought my first mini and my breeder became my mentor and friend and even though I had experience with big horses, she has been a terrific help and has provided much guidence to me with my miniature horses. I am sure people will be posting lots of information real soon, this forum is terrific.
default_yes.gif
I can't wait to see your photos. Adair