I am asking out of ignorance...

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Simple Life Farm

Reaction score
I am truely asking out of ignorance. I see so many posts asking the color of their horse. Why? Is this so they can be registered correctly? I do not breed, so I have never had to determine the color of a horse. Or is it because some colors are more desirable than others?

Example: If I purchased a weanling, and it is registered as black, but then starts to show signs of becoming a bay,(probably using a bad example) does it really matter???

Seriously, I honestly don't know the answer. I am not wanting to hurt any feelings, just wanting to learn something. Maybe this is something that really should be of more importance to me.

As you can probably tell, I am still new to minis.

Another example: Last year at Nationals in the solid color stallion/gelding class, most of the top 10 wins went to solid black horses. Why? Don't get me wrong, I have a solid black stallion, I think he is awesome, but I never considered putting him in the color class (until I saw all the blacks winning :DOH! ). Seen one black, seen them all.

Again, not looking to hurt feelings, just wanna know what I am missing. Please don't flame me
default_pray.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
Truthfully, color is only important as far as identification goes.

I don't think, other than LWO, that there is anything life or death about it.

Color is merely that, color. It doesn't affect a horse's temperament, their movement, soundness or anything else.