How is Crystal looking?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crystalsowner

Reaction score
I have owned Crystal almost a month now and I am new to minis so let me know please how you think shes doing. When I got her she was a bit on the fat side, but possibly pregnant. I have been feeding her half a flake of hay twice a day. Anyone think she looks worse? Better? Losing weight? Looking more or less pregnant? I do know she needs her feet done, working on getting one out. But Im in a rural area, and getting one out has been a problem. Ugh.

Today, excuse the dirt on her butt lol. It just rained and she rolled.
default_smile.png

2lcrc00.jpg

When I got her

bgwsvc.jpg

Few other pics from tody

29m910p.jpg

jfferm.jpg

She looks fine. I don't think a total of one flake a day is enough for her to eat. To diet a mini it's best to do it slowly and not quickly
default_smile.png

Do you know for sure she's not pregnant? If she is bred a diet isn't a good thing in my view.

She looks fine. I don't think a total of one flake a day is enough for her to eat. To diet a mini it's best to do it slowly and not quickly
default_smile.png

Do you know for sure she's not pregnant? If she is bred a diet isn't a good thing in my view.
I was not dieting her. I was told that is the normal amount to feed a mini. These are good sized flakes that feed my adult full sized quarter horses two flakes a day. What would you suggest she get?

Depends on what they weight, what type it is etc
default_smile.png
Mine don't have grass so they get 2-3 flakes each so they always have something to nibble on. It's grass hay.

You're doing well with your pretty girl
default_smile.png