horse safety

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twelveoaks

Reaction score
:new_shocked: i have notice a lot of kids when showing wrap the lead around their hands, Horse safety 101 is you NEVER wrap a lead around your hands.

why is this right for the minis or is it

thanks

twelveoaks

Well, this is my first time with a mini, but having had horses in the past, I would certainly tell anyone not to wrap a lead around their hand. It's a bad habit to get into, and if you forgot yourself, you could accidentally do it with a larger horse. And, as mentioned before, the little guys can surprise you as to how strong they are, particularly if a young child were leading them. That would be the equivalent of an adult holding an full-size horse. I don't know anything about showing minis, but surely this isn't actively allowed by the judges, etc.?! :no: I mean no offense, obviously. As I said, I know nothing about the show world. Any horse I've ever had, or been involved with, has been strictly for pleasure. But, from the time I was a small child, (and there are pictures of me in the saddle. long before I could walk :bgrin ), safety was always drummed into my head, including not wrapping a lead around one's hand.