Growth Spurts & Miniatures?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tremor

Reaction score
So, this is my first post here so I would like to introduce myself before I ask my question.

Hi, my name is Julia!
default_saludando.gif
I live in Iowa, and I'm a sophomore in high school. I have nine miniature horses, two of whom are already sold and going to their new home in January. Out of the six we're keeping I have one breeding mare, a cremello, left who is bred for 2011 for the last time. I also have her 2010 colt, a silver smokey black, and one other non-dwarf foal, a palomino filly. My other three is a dwarf mare, a chestnut, and her two dwarf foals, one from 2007, and 2010. Her 2007 gelding, a chestnut appy, was conceived due to my parents stupidity, and her 2010 filly, a silver black appy, was bred through the fence after we tried to keep her open. Because of this filly and the economy we are getting out of breeding so we can enjoy our remaining horse. Thank god too!
default_biggrin.png

So, now that you know me sort of, I can ask my question.
default_yes.gif

My 2010 colt, Pete, is HUGE! His dam and sire are only 32'' tall and all of their previous foals both together and with other mares have been under 30'' at maturity. Pete on the other hand is 29'' tall and has outgrown a halter made specifically for yearling miniatures, 27''-29'' tall. I haven't a clue where he got his height or how. Pete had a growth spurt of some sort right after the county fair in July (where he got a purple ribbon!
default_laugh.png
) . So, now his butt is way in the air. His parts and siblings on the other hand are level with butt and shoulder. So, to me this sounds like its just an awkward going stage and not genetic, but that's not what I've been told.