Driving question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KathyB

Reaction score
I am fairly new to driving. Today we took my mini out for a drive. When he would trot, the shafts would bounce (alot). It could very well be due to that fact that we were on a dirt road and it had been raining recently. I just wanted to make sure that it has nothing to do with how he is harnessed to the cart. I have not had this problem in the past and I could not see that we had done anything differently. The only thing different was that we added air to the tires before we left.

Is there anyway to lessen the bounce?

Last edited by a moderator:
it would be better if you could post a photo of your horse harnessed so we could see if it's done correctly.. otherwise a cart that bounces a lot typically is a sign of being unbalanced. You will naturally get SOME bounce as a horses movement has suspension but it shouldn't be a horrible bounce.

Edited to add: ok I guess i should clarify. the shafts themselves shouldnt' be flopping around on their own but moving up and down with the natural movement of the horse as it goes up and down..otherwise there should be no bounce and the shafts should "float".

My shafts NEVER bounce. But then, I tighten the shafts to the harness rather tightly. I do not like any slipping or bouncing that happens on trails. Some say I tighten too tight, but, I don't think that the cart should be able to slip forward or backward. I might be wrong in the tightness on the shafts but, it won't come off either.

Bouncing shafts aren't particularly comfortable for your horse as you've obviously noticed
default_smile.png