DOT Laws

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JourneysEnd

Reaction score
Information one of my clients just received.

I, and the horse community, desperately need your help in explaining the laws of a DOT number. Many of us are confused regarding the laws of a D.O.T. number and a CDL license. I’ve read the outline on the web page, I still can’t determine if I need one or not and I need to know so I can comply with the laws of the state. We hear from some people that we are NOT commercial and do not need them, then we hear of people being stopped and fined. Before we travel to Oklahoma next month I need to know for sure what we need to do.

Let me explain, I am a resident of Texas, I have miniature horses/ponies. I show them and train them myself. I drive a one ton Dooley or a ¾ ton truck pulling a 22’ gooseneck horse trailer. The manufacture’s weight for my truck is 11,500, the trailer is 10,000 lbs. I took the truck/trailer to a weigh station and had it weighed empty, it weighed 19,000 lbs. Some states requires a DOT number for commercial trucks. I need know 4 things.

1. Am I considered commercial?

2. Am I required to obtain a DOT number to show horses out of state?

3. Am I required to obtain a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) since my weight is less than 26,001 lbs?

4. Do I need to stop at all truck weigh stations or do I need to stop only at ones that pertain to livestock/agriculture inspections?

Really hope you can answer these questions, we are really confused as what we need to do.