Biothane

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fourluckyhorseshoes

Reaction score
Hi-

I am new to driving. I have seen a biothane harness for sale. How does it compare to leather? Is it an inferior material? Would you use it at a show? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

I have a Zilco Harness, it is biothane and is very high quality.

Have seen stunning Quality leather harnesses and others that I won't want any where near my horse. So it makes it hard to compare Bio with leather.

It depends on where you drive, what kind of driving you want to do.

Bio, is good for trails, CDE , maybe lower level showing. But if you want to do breed shows or dressage, a nice leather harness is better to have.

Bio to clean, I just have to dunk in a bucket to clean. Leather, takes time to clean properly.

All I know is my personal opinion. I really like biothane and betathane. I have some very attractive, show worthy, synthetic harnesses, including a high end Lutke harness. I love them.

Some say synthetic is not preferable to leather because in an emergency, the synthetic will not break and free the horse but supposedly leather will. I have not ever owned a well made leather harness that would break for a mini in an emergency. (carry a knife while driving)

I have a Zilco Harness, it is biothane and is very high quality.
You actually probably have a beta harness, at least the Zilco we have is beta. Bio is shiny and plastic like, while beta has more of a matte finish.