Advice please

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WJS

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to driving, i think I have just broke my 15 year old stallion to drive ( he may have been broke whilst in the USA but i do not know for sure) he has been over in the UK for about 4 years.

Took to the harness and cart like a Duck to Water! but he hates the bit... i have tried a raised barrel with 1/2 side cheeks and a normal snaffle.

my question is: could he be driven without a bit? would i have enough control? ( we only drive in the field).

Is there a way of finding out if he was driven in the USA?..would like to know more about him.

thank you

I would say no driving without a bit. I was at a clinic where the clinician recommended putting the bit on after feeding while in the stall and leave it in all day , not too tight of course and after a few days they will be used to it. Taking it off at night and for meals of course.

When you say he hates his bit...can you discribe what he is doing? It is hard to help without more information
default_yes.gif

There are ways to see if he was shown in driving classes I believe. People could possibly help you if we knew his registered name.

Last edited by a moderator:
What about a bitless bridle? Admittedly, I've never driven a horse before, but I do ride bitless all the time. I use this bridle: http://www.bitlessbridle.com/ and feel just as secure in it as I do with a bit. They make a driving version too. It's not legal to show in, though.

I would personally be hesitant to leave a bit in all day. The bit rings could easily get caught on something and do serious damage to the horse's mouth. Plus you wouldn't be able to feed hay while it's on- it's a choking hazard.