Yet another feeding question!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

O So

Reaction score
First of all let me say Hi! I am somewhat new to mini's and currently only have one! I was raised around horses when I was younger but never a mini!

The previous owner of my mini said to "free feed" him as long as he was getting exercise! She also told me to give him a cup of grain twice a day. I am guessing that "free feed" is to just have hay in his feeder at all times?

Now about O So. He is a 2 year old stallion standing 28 inches tall. I am not sure of his weight yet. The vet papers that I got said 55 but I really think he is heavier then that! Don't know why they put 55 unless they actually didn't weigh him and just put a number in there! The PO took him to the vet to get his health check and coggins so I could bring him to CA! I bought him in OR.

The PO said she is having trouble getting him to gain weight. He also has a pot belly. Which will get bigger the more he eats, although it does go back down by morning with no hay are grass to eat! He was wormed about a month and a half ago by the PO.

I have had him for about a month now. I have only been feeding him about a flake a day of Orchard Grass Hay, plus the 2 cups of grain a day. The grain I am using is Omolene #100 Pleasure. I feed his flake a day in ration, meaning I give him 1/4 in the morning 1/4 in the afternoon and so on, to equal 1 flake!

When I first got him I didn't have my round pen set up so I was walking and in circles for about 15-20 a day. We would walk slow, then pick up the pace for a bit, then slow again. We did this in both directions. We did that 5 days a week. I take off the day's I have to sleep during the day which is only 2 days.