What color is she?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EllieB

Reaction score
Hi, I'm just wondering what color you would call this girl. Her registration certificate has her as a Sorrel. I don't think she looks sorrel...I am new to the mini scene & the whole color-definitions thing, so am just curious what you think!

She was registered before I got her.

Yearling2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
[SIZE=14pt]She looks a little like Champagne (sp) does she have any freckles around her eyes or muzzle?
rolleyes.gif
[/SIZE]

Bill

Without knowing the colors of her parents & judging from the photos....she appears to be a shade of Silver-Dapple (Silver-Black).

I am voting silver dapple as well, one of my colts from two years back had that same funky shade, it was from being bleached by the sun. I would bet if you clip a spot, it's be a pretty steel grey.
yes.gif

She is a Silver, often mistaken for Chestnut or Palomino. Just send the photos in and ask for the colour to be changed.

She looks just like one of my mares that is registered silver dapple. Her sire is a silver buckskin (at least that is what I think), buckskin for sure. This is mine.....

gal1.jpg

Oh, how cool. I've always liked the silver-based colors!

Her dam was registered as a chestnut, but to me she looked like a silver bay; she had the reddish-tan body, and darker brown legs, muzzle & ears, with a very white mane & tail.

Her sire was black & white; but he's got a lot of grey and silver dapple in his background, as well as chocolate brown.

Here's a not-so-great picture of her dam; sorry, that's the only one I have (she's not my horse)

silverbay.jpg

Thank you for all your input! I'll have to send in a color change request for her registration certificate.