Returning member and mini owner

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jandjcaptein

MHT Supporter
MHT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello,
I have been reading the threads here and there is a lot of helpful information. I am a returning member that has not used the forum for a few years...I have been a horse owner my whole life but I am new to minis as of 4 years ago. I have rescued a mini mare that is due to foal not too long from now. She is about 260 days. I am here to learn everything I can before the blessed event happens! I have had a lot of experience with cow births and years ago I was a proud owner of a registered Arabian that foaled without a single problem. I want to learn anything I can about mini's in particular. My mini mare is 11 years old and is suffering from laminitis. We are under vet care and Sweetie has been on butte for her pain. I also have her on a supplement that is called Serraquin that works on the gut and inflammation. I am hoping this may help. So far I have seen improvement with her eyes. She used to have very crusty eyes and they have cleared up 90% since she has been on this supplement. I am wondering if there is someone out there that has experience with a pregnant mare that has had to be on butte throughout the pregnancy. I am worried about the effect on the foal. Thanks in advance!
Jayne

Hi @jandjcaptein and welcome back! Best wishes on your new baby to come. How exciting. I've not used Bute during a pregnancy but have used Banamine/Flunixin when needed. Bute can be so hard on their tummies long term - like Ibuprofen for us. I'm glad you have her on a supplement for her belly and joints but you might want to add some Omeprazole to that to prevent gastric ulcers. However, I'm not sure about the suitability of its use for a pregnant or lactating mare. Best talk with your vet about it.