Training the owner

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wingnut

Reaction score
Being a total novice when it comes to living with horses...be they miniature or not....I decided it would be a good idea to get some individual training for *me*. I came to this conclusion after meeting a couple of really great ladies at a driving clinic in May.

After the clinic was over, I approached the trainer and asked her about individual lessons. She was happy to set something up with me and gave me her phone number to contact her when I was ready. Yesterday was our first session. I have to say it was exceptional and well worth the investment in time and money.

As my two biggest concerns are the training of our yearling and the soon-to-be-here weanling, she pulled out a foal from the farm's barn (one that has had no halter/lead training, although all these foals are handled well from birth) and we worked with her for about 15-20 minutes. Already, I have a good idea on how to begin working with the weanling that is coming home to us on Saturday. I would have been happy to end our session right there!

Next she pulled out yearling gelding that she is training for another client. She gave me a good idea of how he should be walking on lead and then gave me a very low-key demonstration of lungeing on a 6ft lead. Very gentle, very short session for the yearling. She cautioned me that overworking a yearling with lungeing could be detrimental to the horse. She also showed me how she's working with him to stand like you want in a halter class.

Finally, she pulled out one of the farm's own yearling fillies. This girl, Bunny, is very much at the same stage as my yearling girl Izzy. The trainer put Bunny through some lead/halter practice. Then she handed Bunny over to me so I could get a hands-on feel of it all while she watched and gave me pointers.