shaving mare before foaling

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kristi@berrett-ranch

Reaction score
My mares are very furry and ready to foal soon and I know they should be shaved. The problem is that both of them will barely let me brush them under the belly. How did you accomplish it? Has anyone not shaved their bellies and had no problems?

Thanks

I got my mare's underneath shaved yesterday at 320 days. She is sooo furry and shedding like crazy. Would have done it earlier but needed to purchase a new blade. Since she is such a foodie I just hung a food bucket on the fence and put her some food in it. She was very cooperative. To get her to be still enough while I take milk sample I put some carrot pieces in her food bin in the stall and she munches while I milk.

I have been breeding Minis for 30 years + now and I have never clipped a mares belly. Before that I bred Welsh and Arabs and I never clipped them, either.

I never had (and I am obviously touching wood as I say this) any problems whatsoever of any kind. Ever.
default_smile.png

One thing I would say though is that you do need to get the bellies handled and quickly. If the mares are nervous of you touching there they will not allow you to assist a foal nursing. They may well be happy to have the foal nurse, but if it needs help you may need to wear a helmet (I am being serious, now) or have a spare head ready (OK that was not serious!)

I would employ my magic arm- stuffed glove on a stick- it beats getting kicked in the head every time.......

Ive never shaved mine either , the hairy shetlands living out on the islands of scotland have managed perfectly well without being shaved so I dont think my minis who are warm and well fed and with alot less hair need to be shaved either
default_smile.png