Questions about how Miniatures are measured

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MerelyAmanda

Reaction score
I'm still learning about Miniatures so I wanted to ask a few questions about how they are measured, but not clutter up the thread about the letter.

1. As I understand it, Miniatures are measured at "the last hairs of the mane" right? Can I ask why? Every other breed I've heard of measures at the withers.

2. How does registering them work when they are younger? I would assume you can't know their mature height until they are well, mature, so do they get tentative registration when younger?

3. If you are showing as a yearling, etc. do they have classes divided by heights like they do for the mature horses?

[font=Trebuchet Ms

1. As I understand it, Miniatures are measured at "the last hairs of the mane" right? Can I ask why? Every other breed I've heard of measures at the withers. *** To be honest, I don't know WHY, except this method was established early on. People have wanted to change this method for several years.

2. How does registering them work when they are younger? I would assume you can't know their mature height until they are well, mature, so do they get tentative registration when younger?***Initially, an immature mini receives a "temporary" registration. There are height requirements according to age when you show at the registry sanctioned shows.

3. If you are showing as a yearling, etc. do they have classes divided by heights like they do for the mature horses?[/font]
***Exactly. I believe the top height for yearlings is 32 inches, but don't quote me.
default_smile.png
If you are interested in showing, I recommend that you contact the registry for the Rule Book for showing. And I recommend that you attend one or two shows as an observer before showing a horse...........Just my opinion.

MA