Question about Thimbles

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
It would be easier to have someone who welds add a peg to your metal shafts in the appropriate location. All my high-end metal carts came with welded tug stops and I don't think the broad brass after-market tug stops I put on my Graber would have sat very well on the narrow shafts of a Frontier. I have however seen several Frontiers and CTM's modified by screwing in a small coat hook or other appropriately shaped and sized object from the hardware store and that worked well. I can get some pictures from my files if you want.

Leia

Would love to see pictures.

I am a former standardbred trainer. Quick hitches are the best. There is no need for thimbles or tugs. However in harness racing there is a saftey strap that goes around the shaft of the cart and attaches to the hitch itself or a D ring. This stops the cart from flipping up and over in case of an emergency. They also have the shafts cut back to the hitch now. However hitching with straps I like the thimbles and the tugs.
Also the breaching in the picture I am not sure I like that attached to the cart. It looks more like a kicking strap. I think if you have your cruppers adjusted properly there would be know need to have a breaching strap. I think the less stuff one theses little guys the easier and free there movement is.

Just IMO