Overcheck bit

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mominis

Reaction score
I am looking for suggestions for a super mild bit for Shake's first overcheck bit. Does anyone have any thoughts? I thought the leather one in the Ozark Mtn catalog looked really mild, but a friend of mine told the that those leather bits are not worth a lick. Would love to hear your opinions.

*makes icky puckered face like she tasted something sour*

Overchecks. Eww!

default_rolleyes.gif
default_laugh.png

Seriously, I have no experience with the PROPER use of them, as I know you'll be doing, since the only time I see them in play seems to be with horses who aren't at all built to be able to hold that sort of frame. I'll be interested in the educated replies.

Leia

....do you need the overcheck?

honestly, dont mean to nag or be annoying, but i am hugely against overchecks for many reasons, a few being they can create back problems and force the horse to hold its head uncomftorably and the horse can really hurt its mouth and it gives the horse a tense, uncomftorable, 'i'm being gagged' look. you can acheive just as nice a headset with a sidecheck, the sidecheck has more give and wont gag the horse. my stepdad has a buddy whos draft horse was ruined by an overcheck. that poor horse is so stiff in the neck and back its sad. he walkes like he's cripple. when he saw a chiropractor the guy said the muscles in his back were really sore and his neck muscles were in horrible shape. once he was done that horse was so relaxed and happy he looked like he was drugged
default_laugh.png

IMO, an overcheck is a cruelty that isnt needed.

The rule book says that I must have a separate overcheck bit. Were I just driving for pleasure, no, I wouldn't use one, but since I must....I want the gentlest bit I can find.