Need help OTTB

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jess

Reaction score
I bought a 7 year old off the track TB mare last year in Sept. at an auction though she never actually went through the sale. She was a pity case I didn't need her just caught my eye and it was just one of those connections that and her owners didn't want to run her through the sale-They had bought her at another auction for their daughter who was a beginner and needless to say she was too much horse for the kid. My problem with her is she won't maintain weight....She is wormed monthly and also gets a daily wormer,We also did a purge worming on her when I first got her where she was wormed daily for a week. I'm a vet tech and we ran a full CBC on her-nothing abnormal there,her teeth have been floated twice-no problems there either,she's been scoped for ulcers-none. I'm just at my wits end I cant' keep weight on her to save my life......She gets 3 quarts of senior feed,half a bale of second cut alfalfa hay, 1/2 cup corn oil twice a day she isn't being worked-Too skinny and I don't want to stress her, She is bright and active in every way just won't hold her weight. She'll look good for a few days and then drop agian....Has anyone used weight builder or any other weight gain suppliments? Or just have any suggestions in general? I will see if I can get a few pics of her uploaded....At first I thought her metabolism needed to adjust from being a race horse to a pasture pet but it's been over a year now and the vet I work with and myself are at a total loss.....I'm leary about adding straight beet pulp to her diet again as she has choked on it before-Plus the senior feed she is on(blue seal vintage senior)already has beet pulp in it. She is a VERY slow eater so has to be kept seperate from my other horses when being fed. It takes 45 mins to finish her grain. I'm tru