navicular

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thellwellmini

Reaction score
Has anyone ever heard of navicular in minis? I have an 18yr old that has come up lame and the only thing she tests positive for is navicular! Any input would be aprecciated! Thanks!

HMMMM I would think if it was navicular it would have shown up much sooner......I hear 18 yr old with foot pain and I am thinking founder rotation of coffin bone etc.....I have very little experience with navicular BUT the few horses (full sized quarter horses) had it show up by 3 yrs........what tests did they do? have they taken x rays to look for coffin bone rotation? .....I would be seeking a second opinion if it were me.

new_shocked.gif

Navicular is also referred to as coffin joint lameness. It can occur at any time also,

not every horse founders and I don't see why a mini couldn't develop navicular.

Each horse react's differently to pain the same as we humans do so with navicular

what might seem mild , if the horse has low pain tolerance, might be severe for

that animal. Linda B

If my memory serves me right, (it's been a VERY long time since I've had to deal with it) it also has to do with the size and angle of the feet, small feet with a large heavy body. Which is why some QH crossed with TB had more problems got the QH body and TB feet.

Navicular is a strange thing to be diagnosed with, even if your horse was a Quarter Horse. Veterinarians don't use the term "Navicular Disease" easily these days, preferring to refer to this variety of lamenesses as "Heel Pain Syndrome". In the past, any lameness associated with heel pain was referred to as Navicular. Now there are so many variables that can cause the lameness, and it is more often a problem with the coffin joint or the navicular bursa or any number of things, rather than the navicular bone itself.