My Official 'Lurker Coming Out Of The Closet' Post

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PetVetCanuck

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I've been reading and learning (posting a bit) and thought it was about time I introduced myself to the group.

I'm a retired veterinarian in Northern Ontario, Canada. I was forced to retire early after a horse related head injury in 2004. I've had facial reconstructive surgery and been through brain injury rehabilitation and am doing much better. At the time of my accident I was breeding ATA registered Trakehners, but had to place them after six months, when it became obvious that I wasn't going to return to normal function as quickly as I had hoped. I'm doing much better now, but have been left with permanent vision and balance deficits. I am no longer able to ride.

I didn't go out to my own barn for years - it was too depressing. Then I got a few alpacas as a trial (went very well, but too much like sheep) and have now moved up to two very small ponies that my six year old rides. With encouragement from his instructor, who's become a great friend of mine, I've decided to look for a VSE/pony/small horse to drive!