in hand jumping help :)

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shadowpaints

Reaction score
hey all i have a gelding that has been trained really well to jump only problem is, the more i practice in one session, the faster he goes, even if i stay at a steady speed, and i just cannot keep up with him!! any ideas?? i am a novice jumper, and just want to do well at our first sanctioned show!

here is a pic of cici jumping.. i love this horse!

003.jpg

try this again.... lol

Hi - Nice jumper! We have one like that (Cowboy) that just loves to jump and wants to speed up. Here are a few things that we try:

1. I can't tell if you have a chain under his chin or not but that is the firt thing I would do.

2. We make JUMPING the reward for a nice, steady pace (trot in our case). So if he won't trot nicely AROUND or to the jumps, he doesn't get to jump. Or if he speeds up, back to trotting without the jumps. We stop him between jumps if we have to, but that is a last resort.

3. A couple of trot poles in front of the jumps so he needs to concentrate on those will slow him down.

4. Our jumps are in the same place he gets turned out (our backyard) so when I bring him in (WITHOUT a chain) I often take him over JUST ONE jump. I am tiny, old, and not strong, and can do this. It seems to make a great reminder that jumps can be taken slowly and still in great form.

Other things are that no one who jumps the horse can be allowed to let him blast through the jumps!! Remember that you are training him ALL THE TIME, so you are either training him to blast over the jumps or that jumps are to be taken at a reasonable pace.

Good luck with him.