How much can a Mini actually take?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Casey0Lee

Reaction score
I am not new to horses or Mini's, but I am new to driving. I had a little driving experience with a friends family when I was much younger, but that is all. I do have some friends who are BIG into driving, both with their Mini's and their Morgans. They don't ride at all and have been drving (showing) for years. I will be seeking some help from them, but I'm curious... how much driving/work can a Mini actually handle? I have barrel horses, so I'm very aware that conditioning and getting them in shape is huge. I would never just hitch an out of shape horse up and expect them to do strenuous work.

We have friends that have Haffies. They don't do much riding either. They usually drive their Haffies along with us on some of our trail rides. We have some trails that are wide and nicely manicured and great for driving as well as riding. They have some hills, but nothing big. The trails are like a nice dirt road, without the gravel and with grass in the middle... like a lane.

Could a mini handle a trail ride provided it was properly conditioned or should they stay on the flat or in an arena/field setting? How much work can they actually handle?

Any info? I was just sitting here wondering how much I'll actually be able to drive her. I do a ton of trail riding, but driving would be so much more fun. I'm just not sure a Mini could handle it? I'm new to all this Mini driving business.

Thanks!

Also, I attached a photo of my mare. She is 35.25" tall.

Screenshot_2014-01-13-15-43-13-1.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Check out the hyperbike webpage photo gallery and youtubes of mini horses doing CDE marathon events. Properly conditioned there is so much you events you can do with your mini. Trail riding is one of many things you can do.