First show and made it through my classes

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mmmorgans

Reaction score
I entered my very first driving class at a 3 day AMHA sanctioned show. I have only ever entered one other show but only had halter horses. The driving is completely new to me - I have never driven my Morgans so have absolutely no experience. I borrowed a "show cart" from someone - which was very nice of them - but the cart was an easy entry cart and really looked out of place in the ring with very seasoned driving horses and drivers.

I made it through each class (Country Pleasure - amateur and open) without making a complete fool of myself. Several exhibitors offered some helpful tips - and that was so much appreciated. I am a complete and total novice and it was very obvious - but how else can a person learn.

The first day the judge came over to me before the placements were announced - now I knew that I was going to place last and that was perfectly fine to me - I didn't deserve anything other - the judge was so pleasant and offered some suggestions and was very encouraging.