Fat or pregnant

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kim P

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the world of ponies. My son bought my grandchild her first pony and the guy gave us two old ones too, as he was moving and needed to get rid of them. The vet says that Patty is either four or seven. She does not have that line in her tooth. The two boys are over twenty. I saw them breed. I am thinking maybe he is too old to get her pregnant. She has gained a lot of weight. They all have. Especially Patty. I feed them all the same except Patty is a mowing machine! The vet told me I would know if she did not mate again the next month. I have not seen them again but that does not mean they didn't. I saw them breed in March I think. How do I know if she is just from grazing or pregnant. Do the boys ever get too old to reproduce? I don't really know how to post a pic on here, but I can to FB or a phone message.

Hi.. for photos, click "more reply options" at bottom of the posting box... browse for your photo, then you have to do two steps once you have browsed for your photo.. click "attach this file" and when your photo shows up as a thumbnail in a separate box under your message box, look to the right of that box and you will see a "add to post" option... and your photo will show up in your message.