Driving, Harness and Blanketing Questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KellyAlaska

Reaction score
As you know from my last post I am brand new to driving. I am in the process of purchasing my first Mini and trying to learn as much as I can about carts, harnesses ect. I have been looking on the AMHA, AMHR various forums and websites but I am having a hard time finding the answers to a lot of my basic questions. Sorry if any of these are stupid questions! I am hoping that some of the more experienced drives won’t mind giving me a basic lesson about harnesses and acceptable tack options.

The mini I am planning on buying is a loud colored black and white Pinto driving horse. He is about 35.5/36 inches tall and though he is very pretty and refined he is a little stocky. Now from what I have been reading online because he is not 34 inches or below he cannot be shown at AMHA shows. Is that correct? He is registered with both the AMHR and the ASPC. He looks great pulling the cart but I am not sure what style of driving would best describe his gait. He does not carry his frame as low as a country pleasure driving horse but he does not have the high knee action of a park horse. I am assuming maybe he is a pleasure horse? So if he is a pleasure horse what type of cart and harness is appropriate for shows? Do most people have both show and pleasure equipment?

I also have tons of questions about picking the perfect harness. There seems to be so many options. My main concern for my horse is comfort! It looks like the V fit or comfort fit breast collars would be the most comfortable for the horse. Can you show with these? Do you recommend buckle in traces? What are French tugs? Do you recommend Betathane, Biothane or Leather? Listed below are a few links of harnesses I am considering.