Direct and indirect reining in driving

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Specialk

Reaction score
I am new to driving. My definitions of direct and indirect while riding. In direct reining my arm is straight, the horse is moving forward and turning. Indirect, my arm is bent crossing over the horses neck, the horse is yielding his hindquarters, one- rein stop etc.

Can you indirect and direct rein in driving? If so, how?

It's all direct (or plow) reining if I'm not mistaken. One line is held in each hand and gentle pressure/cues are delivered to each side of the bit individually. More like a dressage horse less like a western reining or pleasure horse.

Neck reining? Don't see how one could do that in harness. The terrets on the saddle would preclude that having any effect.

By the way, "direct reining" sounds more elegant than "plow reining", doesn't it?

I was always taught that there is a 1' box between your hands where your hands should never go in driving. You can teach your horse to drive off of your outside rein to yield their hindquarters (hard to explain in words) as you would while riding a horse (outside rein is super important in riding as it is in driving as well). I also was told you want your driving horse to bend and give to the bit, but while driving and working, the straighter they are through the manuvers the better, so to teach your driving horse to move laterally rather than bending and laying on the shafts.