clipping

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here's a link to a website with pictures.... search google to find more

hope this helps
default_wink.png

http://www.southernheartranch.com/clip.html

What's that old saying???....

Practice makes perfect!

You should definitely google it-there are a lot of great sites that will give you some awesome tips. The best way of learning is to just go for it and practice. You can read as much as you want, but doing it yourself is always the best to learn
default_smile.png
I've been clipping for 10 years and I still learn new things. For your first time, just go nice and slow-don't rush anything and make sure you have nice sharp blades and a horse that is clean and NOT sweaty. I usually have to go over the horses a few times before I get all of the clipper blade marks off. They are my downfall. I always start at the butt-then body-neck-head-legs. You'll find what you like best though. Be very careful around the mane because if you have a horse that spooks or twitches at all, you could end up with chunks of mane missing in random places!! NOT good haha. There's ALOT of skin pulling that'll be done on your part to get everything. Horses have lots of nooks and crannies that'll just drive you bonkers when it comes to clipping. Just play with pulling the skin to one direction or another. I think that's pretty much the basics-I wouldn't worry too much. If you too terrible a job, just hide the horse in the barn for a while
default_wink.png