Can you (do you) feed round bales to miniature horses?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

walkoffaith

Reaction score
I currently have 10 miniature horses and am finding it difficult to keep hay in front of them as much as I would like. I have no experience with feeding round bales and am looking for advice. Is it safe, what kind of round bale feeder would be best if any, how fast are my 10 likely to go thru an round bale, do I need to be careful of certain types of hay (as in alfafa) so they don't over do it, etc. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you for your help.

I use both small square and round bales with my minis. Most of the time, I just fork the hay off the bale for the minis, but I do have a round bale feeder and sometimes put most of a bale in the feeder.

You do have to watch for dust and must in the round bales, just like the small squares, but they are a little harder to dispose of, if you do get a bad bale. I like to pull the whole outer layer off and not feed that, regardless of how good it might look; we do have cattle, so I have a good place to "dispose" of bad bales or bad sections.

Edited to add; my round bale feeder was an auction find, its a sheep/calf feeder and works out perfect for the minis. [Except right now, its buried under about 2' of snow, so they are eating over the top of the feeder, instead of between the bars.]

And, my I feed primarily grass hay with minimal alfalfa.

Last edited by a moderator:
I use a cradle type feeder and first cutting grass. They will waste some. But it sure is easy.

Bales are different sizes so hard to predict.

Dr Taylor