Baby worry!!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mightymiracles

Reaction score
SO as some of you know (I am fairly new to site so many will not remember) I rescued 2 mares this last may. I did not realize the older mare (12yr) was pregnant, well we got her the first weekend of June and about 3-4 weeks later she blew up like a balloon. She had a bag ("that we didnt notice as she wasnt pregnant when I got her") from previous baby so we thought in the next couple months, no luck. Started doing my research ( I have had many foals before) and came to this website and well after reading all the stuff here, I am scared to have a mini foal!

I guess my question is my mare is still pregnant and was ultrasounded begining of Nov. She had a fairly lg. foal but still quite a bit of fluid so vet said at least a month, but it was healthy and moving and looked good. mom has done well up until this last week where she has started to not finish her feed. This mare was a real pig when it came to food and not she could take it or leave it, doesnt finish her hay and will after a long while maybe finish her grain. That has been going on for atleast 4days. No real bag to speak of, has a little in front of her teats, but nothing in her teats, not filling up at all. I worry about hyperlipemia or hepatic lipidosis.

Anyone have any thoughts?

The baby is definatly moving back and dropping. She is secludded at night and only turned out with one other mare during the day. I just worry about the lack of appetite knowing her personality before when it came to food.

Thanks for any input

Last edited by a moderator: