Asking for your experiences (not opinions) with keeping a single horse

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Max's Mom

Reaction score
I have seen a few threads on the question of keeping a horse by himself, and realize that this is a topic that generates a lot of strong emotions! Therefore, from the beginning, I want to try and set some boundaries on this topic (though I realize that isn't always possible!).

1. I only own one horse but I do not keep him alone (he is boarded), so please don't judge me or my intentions simply because I brought the topic up.

2. I have many years of horse experience and I know all about horses as herd animals and their social needs.

3. I'm interested in actual experiences you personally have had, not in opinions about keeping single horses, pro or con. I really hope that people will be able to share their experiences without being judged by those who may disagree with their decisions.

What I am interested in is your experiences and stories. Some of you have only one horse that you keep without another equine companion. Some of you have had this experience in the past. I'm interested in how this has worked for you, both positives and negatives. What are some of your challenges and how have you addressed them? What sort of non-equine buddies (if any) does your horse have?. What have you learned from your experiences?

Thanks!