APPALOOSA QUESTION

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mini Gray Heart Mini Horse

Reaction score
I was wondering what is the difference between a SNOWCAP and a FEWSPOT APPALOOSAS.

I would love to see pics of either one also would like to see a pic of a silver snowcap or fewspot.

ARE SNOWCAP AND FEWSPOT 100% appaloosa producers to I am new to the appaloosas.

Thanks

Yes, Snowcaps and Fewspots are said to be homozygous, and therefore 100% appaloosa producers. But remember, there are many patterns of appaloosa -- not just the "spotted" ones that you might normally call appaloosa.

The best place to learn about appaloosas, is to join 'The Appaloosa Project' -- where molecular level research is currently being done, identifying the LP gene, modifiers, PATN-1 (the leopard family white pattern gene) etc. A quote from The Appaloosa Project main page states: " To understand the importance of the search for this gene, you must first know what LP is and its significance for breeders. LP stands for “leopard complex”, and is the name assigned to the gene that a horse must have in order to look like an Appaloosa. "Leopard complex" refers to a large group of patterns, any of which may occur when LP is present, and “leopard” simply refers to the unique form of spotting common to them. LP acts as an "on-off" switch that when present in dominant form, activates Appaloosa characteristics (striped hooves, mottled skin, white sclera) and Appaloosa roaning (Sponenberg, Carr, Simak, Schwink. 1990. Journal of Heredity, 81: 323-331). It is hypothesized that LP acts together with modifying genes to produce variability in patterning."

So, although a horse is homozygous -- snowcaps and fewspots -- their offspring can show a variety of different color patterns. Some roan appaloosas have also been found to be homozygous.