AMHA Registration Question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tracyCCF

Reaction score
Ok, here goes. I have a question about a mare I bought. I am not a newbie, by far, but for the life of me, I am confused. I dont know ifI am thinking this up, or it is in a rulebook somewhere. I looked on amha site but didnt see anything in the rulebook.

I have a Amha mare that i bought in the spring, a maiden mare, and about May after putting her out with the stallion , I noticed what I thought was, my stallion mount her ( not sure I saw anything else but I made note on my legal pad of that in mid May). I MUST HAVE BEEN WRONG ON THAT ONE.

Well Sunday, I was taking some pics for some people of the other mares in that field, and I thought, these horses are getting too fat, This mare has a fat pocket in front of her udder. I actually told my niece and mother, that mare is going ot have a baby, jokingly.

Well she did, last night, a tiny , tiny super black filly, only 16.5 inches tall. Filly checked out fine this morning by vet, mare is in great shape, full bag of milk. So all is well there.

Here is the delima. I checked the mares registration papers, and she is under 32 months. I didnt breed her, as I didnt own her then, and the previous owners, who owned her from birth are dumbfounded too. Although they only have one stallion, they dont remember him ever being in the pasture with this girl. I asked about any young stallions, and they said no, she was in only with two other girls. He said they might have gotten out, and put back up when found, but couldnt really remember.

My question is, doesnt Amha require the horse to be at least 32 months old. I dont mind dna testing her, but wont the age of the mare matter.