Where do I begin?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BallynoeBaby

Reaction score
Hi everyone I have just joined this so if there are any mistakes please forgive me. Anyway I have only started showing my miniature this year and i only got her a year ago so i am a full beginner. Where do i go? What do i do? I have so many questions and the problem is i don't know where to get the answers. I have found another person who shows her miniatures and she has been great but i don't want to have to keep pestering her every time i have a problem. Is there any good books or anything? Please help

Where are you located?? Find out if there are any clubs in your area-- If so - join-- good place to meet other people & learn a lot. Go to shows, watch what the others are doing-- ask if anyone gives lessons.

When we started to show, we paid $50.00 for a half hour lesson to learn how to stand up our horse. Learned grooming tips as we went along. Try & try again. Practice, Practice & HAVE FUN!!

Go to some shows & watch. Ask the exhibitors when they are not busy - Some of them will answer you................ If you have any county fairs in your area - practice there. Here in Ky we have a dozen or more where newbies can learn.......... Yes- join a club - we belong to two & we do have clinics. Also some club members will help you. Best of luck........................ Added - I guess you cannot get help from the seller? ....... Lee & I have always helped the buyers when we could - makes for a happier buyer & happier horse.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you have specific questions, feel free to ask.

There's a lot of information here and the answers aren't always black and white or right and wrong, but a matter of preference and your own personal feelings (as in whether to clip or not to clip, how close, etc.).