What's Your Day Job?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jill

Aspiring Cowgirl
Reaction score
We haven't done this in awhile and I thought it would be fun to see what some of us do for a living!

I'm a financial planner / registered investment advisor / investment broker. I've been doing this for 11 years and own a small practice with my father. We have a really nice office in Warrenton, VA (50 miles from my house). We even have our names in gold letters on the door :lol: We've got some great employees for office staff.

In order to do what I do, I'm licensed in the areas of investments (stocks, bonds, mutual funds, UIT's...) and insurance (life insurance, annuities). I'm the OSJ / Registered Principal in our office which means I'm my dad's supervisor in the eyes of the SEC. Most of our clients are affluent people who are retired or soon will be. I love working with my clients and my father. I also love being my own boss and not having to go into the office most Fridays
default_wink.png
:

I am not sure if she will remember, but Mary Lou called me once to discuss this article we were working on for AMHA, and when she got through to me (assistants screen my calls), she said it sounded like I had a real professional office! It cracked me up!!! Especially since that day, I didn't have any client appointments and basically was in barn attire
default_rolleyes.gif
:

What about you all? What's your day job?

My biggest job is mommy and wife. In other words, I feed people and clean up after them.

I'm also a self-employed web designer, photographer and a when-I-feel-like-it freelance writer. Sometimes I pretend to be a novellist and work on one of my books-in-progress, but time for that kind of a thing is a luxury.