What do I need?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunni1900

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to minis and bought my first mini a few weeks ago. He wont be weaned until July but I am getting ready for him. What type of harness and cart do I need to show?

Welcome to the wonderful world of Mini's. ....But if driving is your ultimate goal, then you still have a ways to go. Don't be too quick to buy a cart or harness. A mini needs to be AT LEAST three years old before really begin heavy training. The last thing you want to do is to jump in too quickly and injure or discourage your baby. Her mind as well as her body won't be able to handle the demands of driving training.

So don't be too quick to buy a cart or a harness. You will probably change your mind about what you want several times before the time to buy arrives.

That being said....lots of people love the Jerald carts for showing and an easy entry cart for everyday training and use.

Barb

thank you. I was hoping for some advice like that. I'm just so excited. How much does a cart or harness (a good one) sell for?

You should plan on miminal $500-$1000 for a useable harness and cart.

Possibly you could find a bargain, but it's best to expect to spend more.

While you are waiting for your baby to grow up, maybe you should look around for a mature horse to start driving!
default_biggrin.png
Sometimes you can find the whole "package" for sale, as folks think they will do driving, then find it isn't for them and want to sell everything together.

It is important to buy a well-balanced cart; false economy to buy a poor cart!! If you search the forum topics, you can find out lots about buying carts/harnesses, including different companies that offer them.

So why not find an older horse so you can join us driving! After all, 2 little horses are twice the fun.