Weaning my first foal...

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tamarack

Reaction score
Spirit is my first foal and I am very attached to him. His mom is the best. I hate the thought of having to separate them. All my pastures and corrals are attached. I have two other mares. Can I just put him in with them? HE will be 5 months old in October. Mom has been bred back. How long can I leave him on her without causing problems? :no: Thanks for any help

Tamarack

Well I am by no means an expert but going from what I have gathered from the forum and other places...If he is 5 months old and mum is bred back it definitely time to wean. If he is not going to nurse off the other mares and they will be good to him then he would be fine with them but he would also be fine in a pasture next to his mum. Good Luck, be tough and make sure he has a good supply of a quality weanling feed throughout the process ( and make sure he will eat this before you take him off mum). Hopefully somebody with a bit more experience than me can also comment.

I'm of the mind to take a few weeks to do this. First a few hours, the a bit more until they're apart all day then switch then they are apart all day long. Surely there's another of your horses he likes? I'd buddy them up and take mom away not baby. Baby needs the comfort of friends and territory. I hate it too. Course lots of folks belive in cold turkey, having nursed a child I never did it..ouchie mare.