The most important thing you learnt when you started out?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wings

Reaction score
De lurking
default_saludando.gif

Was wondering what you felt was the most important thing you learnt in your first year of driving.

I'm starting out next year, end of the show season one of my guys gets pulled from the halter team and goes off to a trainer and I start driving with a friend so hopefully when it comes to driving my own guy we are both less green!
default_new_rofl.gif

I would have to say the most important thing I learned as an absolute beginner was to maintain contact on the reins. Horses with closed bridles can see very little on their own and they really rely on us to guide them and support them. If we don't have contact they are left sightless and in a void. You are their link to vision and your hands on the reins is their lifeline. Anyone who doubts this should put on a blind fold and hold a rope in front of them and let another person 'drive' them. If their driver lets those ropes go slack they can not know where to go next. There is so much to learn in the beginning, how to harness correctly, rein handling, how to push the horse into the bridle etc etc but for me this was an epiphany of sorts. These horses trust us with their well being far more than we trust them with our own. They are so vulnerable and willing to put themselves there because they believe we can keep them safe...an awesome responsibility for sure.

Oops, kinda went on and on, sorry
default_blush.png

Oops, kinda went on and on, sorry
default_blush.png

Feel free to go on and on! How else do we newbies learn
default_laugh.png

I'm really looking forwrad to starting, I was supposed to this year but I decided to do one more halter season with this horse so it got put off a year.