stallion behavior

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crisco41

Reaction score
I am new to stallions. Not new to big horses. Have never wanted a stallion in the full size version but just recently got a mini stallion. He has a nice pedigree. great show record and has some nice babies on the ground. He is also the cutest most gorgeous lil thing..he bout hurts your eyes.

I have been trying to find a spot for him where he will be relatively quiet. He was hurt a few weeks ago ana his knee is swollen and gimpy. I would like to give it rest and cold tteartment. Here is the problem. He never stops. He prances and walks the fence. I put one mare in with him..he bred her and is now pacing the fence. He wants the other mares.

Also ihe has only been here 1 day..but I expect politeness. H eis a bit pushy, won;t stand and when i tried to file his front feet he rears.i would not let my little mares get away withth is behavior,.and certainly NOT my big girls. How much lee way do you cut for a stallion? if any. I am of th emindset that even stallions need to act like gentlemen,,,but is it too late to get mr Studly thinking the same thing? He has a show record..he must know how to stand politely?