Splash overo to Splash overo

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

windwalker

Reaction score
Hi can you breed a splash overo to a splash overo?

I just bought a splash overo mare and i'm looking to buy a stallion but want to make sure if I should breed to a solid colored stallion or can she be bred to a splash overo ,frame overo or sabino stallion?

I have heard some overo's being deaf so I dont want to produce any foals that are deaf..

So just curious to see what all of you have to say...

Thanks ..

I'm no expert on breeding pintos, but I can tell you that Overos can carry the LWO gene - that stands for Lethal White Overo. If two horses are bred that are positive for the Lethal White Overo gene (LWO+, one copy each parent), you can get a foal (25% chance) that carries two copies of the gene and that is a fatal result. The foal will be born white and die within a few days.

I'm sure those that breed Overos will pipe in soon.

I have always been taught the same thing. You never want to breed Overo to Overo, Roan to Roan, etc.

We actually have a stallion that is one of our old retired show horses that is a blue roan. His dam was a red roan and sire was a bay roan. He should have been born with the LWO gene, but luckily wasn't. He hasn't however ever sired a live foal. Each time he was bred, regardless of the color of mare, there was a malformation and abortion in the resulting foal. Genes are something to be very careful of.

I have heard that you shouldn't breed roan to roan and I've heard of LWO but didnt know much about it...I just want to make sure I buy and breed her to the right stud..

Thanks for your reply..

I want to learn all I can..